Jan. 3, 2024

3 members of UCalgary family appointed to Order of Canada

Jodi Leanne Abbott, Susanne Craig and George Stroumboulopoulos recognized for their extraordinary contributions
Three medals
Courtesy Order of Canada

Three UCalgary degree holders are starting the New Year as the toast of the nation, after being awarded one of Canada’s highest civilian honours of merit.

Jodi Leanne Abbott, Susanne Craig, and George Mark Paul Stroumboulopoulos were appointed by the Governor General to the Order of Canada, which “recognizes people across all sectors of society who have made extraordinary and sustained contributions to our nation.”

Abbott, BA’88, president and CEO of the University Hospital Foundation in Alberta, was honoured “for her leadership in Alberta’s health-care and college systems, and for her mentorship of young athletes in the field of figure skating.”

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Craig, BA’91, Hon. LLD’19, was given the award “for her significant contributions as an investigative journalist for prominent Canadian and American national newspapers.”

Canadian media personality Stroumboulopoulos, who received an honorary degree from UCalgary in 2007, was named “for his leading contributions to Canadian media and journalism as a renowned broadcaster and producer in television and radio.”

A total of 78 people, as recommended by an advisory council, were added to the Order, including three companions, 15 officers, one honorary officer and 59 members.

Three appointments are promotions within the Order, according to the announcement from Canada’s Governor General Mary Simon.

Sign up for UToday

Sign up for UToday

Delivered to your inbox — a daily roundup of news and events from across the University of Calgary's 14 faculties and dozens of units

Thank you for your submission.