June 11, 2018

Bill Rosehart renewed as dean, Schulich School of Engineering

A message from Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Dru Marshall
Dean Bill Rosehart

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Bill Rosehart, PhD, has been renewed for a second term as dean, Schulich School of Engineering, through to June 30, 2024.

Earlier this year, Dr. Rosehart indicated his willingness to be considered for reappointment. An Advisory Decanal Review Committee was established to consider Rosehart’s performance during his first term as dean and the appropriateness of his reappointment. The Advisory Review Committee invited and reviewed commentary from those within the Schulich School of Engineering and from the external community, and reviewed a submission from Rosehart highlighting major accomplishments attained in his first term to date as dean, along with an examination of a proposed vision for a second term. Thank you to everyone who took the time to provide input. The committee also interviewed Dr. Rosehart. Following the process, the committee unanimously recommended renewal, and President Elizabeth Cannon was pleased to accept the recommendation. 

For over 20 years, Rosehart has been a passionate advocate for engineering education and research. On April 1, 2014, he was appointed dean of the Schulich School of Engineering after having served as interim dean for almost a year. He had previously held the position of head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  

Under his leadership, the Schulich School of Engineering has launched several new programs, including a combined BComm/BSc Engineering degree program with the Haskayne School of Business and an energy engineering program for students with approved technology diplomas. The school has welcomed record numbers of engineering students, enhanced the focus on experiential learning, dramatically increased student retention rates, and supported faculty to secure more federal funding for high impact research.

During his tenure as dean, the Schulich School of Engineering opened the new Canadian Natural Resources Limited Engineering Complex, transforming some of the oldest buildings on campus into a cohesive home for the engineering.

Dr. Rosehart is registered as a professional engineer through APEGA. He was also a founding member of the Canadian Engineering Education Association and has been inducted as Fellow into the Canadian Academy of Engineering for his commitment to innovation in teaching and learning. He is a well-established researcher in the area of electrical engineering, has published over 100 scholarly articles, and supervised or co-supervised 20 graduate students.

I would like to thank all members of the Advisory Review Committee for their time and commitment to this important process. They are: John Reynolds (vice-president (research) designate), Elena Di Martino (tenured academic staff), Les Sudak (tenured academic staff), Svetlana Yanushkevich (tenured academic staff), Sudarshan (Raj) Mehta (tenured academic staff), Sandra Hoenle (TUCFA representative), Jim Dewald (decanal representative), Jodie Clark (MaPS representative), Courtney Tait (AUPE representative), Ahsen Imran (SU representative), Marcela Lopes (GSA representative), Carolyn Emery (GFC representative), Naweed Syed (GFC representative), and Cheryl Sandercock (community representative).

Please join me in congratulating Bill on his reappointment.

Dr. Dru Marshall
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)