Sept. 17, 2020

Two prestigious Canadian Nurses Association Awards recognize nursing professors

Dr. Nicole Letourneau receives the 2020 Jeanne Mance Award and Dr. Sandra Davidson the Order of Merit Award in Nursing Education
Nicole Letourneau
Nicole Letourneau

Dr. Nicole Letourneau (PhD) has been awarded the 2020 Jeanne Mance Award, the highest Canadian honour for a registered nurse, by the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA). UCalgary Nursing dean, Dr. Sandra Davidson, is the recipient of the CNA Order of Merit for Nursing Education.

The Jeanne Mance Award is named after one of Canada’s most inspirational nurses. As the first lay nurse in North America, Mance founded the Hôtel-Dieu Hospital and co-founded the surrounding settlement of Ville Marie, which later became Montreal.

Recipients of this award have made significant and innovative contributions to the health of Canadians, working to increase the public recognition and awareness of the nursing profession and influencing nursing practice in Canada and abroad.

In her nomination of Letourneau, Dr. Karen Benzies (PhD) cited her impactful research on parenting, parental mental health and stress, and child health and development. Letourneau seeks to uncover and share evidence (180+ publications) to support parents and give Canadian children, especially the most vulnerable, the best start in life. She has garnered nearly $60 million in research funding with approximately $19 million as principal or co-principal investigator.

While specifically recognized as a Canadian leader in parent-infant mental health research, Letourneau, who will become the College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta’s president in September, is also recognized by students as an outstanding professor and mentor.

Sandra Davidson

Sandra Davidson, Dean, UCalgary Nursing

Colleen De Neve

The CNA Order of Merit Award in Nursing Education celebrates leadership, creativity, innovation and flexibility in promoting excellence in nursing education. Nominator Dr. Nancy Moules (PhD) wrote that Sandra Davidson exemplifies all that and more.

“As an educator, leader, and researcher her work focuses on creating the preferred future for nursing education and health care through creative and relational practices.”

The CNA Awards are handed out every two years at a formal ceremony which this year will be held virtually. Award recipients will be honoured in a presentation during the Canadian Academy of Nursing Fellowship Induction and CNA Awards Ceremony on November 20, 2020, 12-2:30 p.m. ET.